Update 02/09 — We have added a new lock release mechanism. Selecting Save and Exit return from the Submission page in E-file will automatically release the lock:
Return Locking was activated this morning:
The following message will be displayed when a return is locked by another user:
How does return locking work?
(1) The message will be displayed when a return is open by one user and another user tries to open it.
(2) The lock is released when the user closes the return AND opens another return
(3) The lock is released when the user closes the return AND logs out
(4) Once the lock is released by the actions described in (2) and (3) the return is immediately available to another user
What happens if the user closes the return and then just closes the browser rather than logging out?
Users should always use the Log Out button. If they simply close the browser, the return will be locked until the user actually times out (30 minutes)
Note: The user MUST close the return and either open another return or log out to release the lock.
Blog Posted 01/31/2017 7:59 PM EST